Ten fun facts about Somalia

Fact 1
Somalia comprises of 27 regions and was colonized by both Britain and France before it gained independence in July 1, 1960

Fact 2
Mogadishu is the capital of Somalia and its largest city. It is also known as Xamar.

Fact 3
British Somaliland gained independence from Britain on June 26, 1960 and Italian Somaliland gained independence from Italy just a few days after that on July 1, 1960.

Fact 4
The majority of Somalis are Sunni Muslims and a smaller percentage follows the Shia Muslim denomination and Sufism.

Fact 5
The official languages spoken in Somalia are Somalie and Arabic.

Fact 6
The currency of Somalia is Somali Shilling or SOS which has been in use since 1962.

Fact 7
Somalia is a semi arid land that experiences a very hot climate as it is located close to the equator. The average temperature round the year is 20 to 40⁰C. Some parts in the north experience temperatures above 45⁰C.

Fact 8
This country is the first African nation that was used for flying warplanes by the British.

Fact 9
Somalia is the only country in the world that does not possess a central form of government.

Fact 10
Agricultural products include cattle, goats, sheep, corn, sorghum, coconuts, sugarcane, mangoes, rice, sesame seeds and beans. They export livestock, hides, bananas, fish and charcoal.

Go to more country facts ❯



Short about Somalia
Is situated in the Horn of Africa on the easternmost edge of Africa with the Indian Ocean to the east, Ethiopia to the west, Djibouti to the northwest, Yemen across the Gulf of Aden to the north and Kenya to the southwest

Fast facts

CIA The World Factbook