Ten fun facts about Republic of the Congo

1. Republic of the Congo - A Land of Endless Adventure

The Republic of the Congo is the third largest country on the African continent, stretching across an area of over 342,000 square kilometers. It is bordered to the north by the Central African Republic and Sudan, to the east by Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi, to the south by Zambia and Angola, and to the west by the Republic of the Congo. This vast expanse of land is home to a diverse range of cultures, languages, and landscapes, making it a fascinating destination for travelers and adventurers alike.

AlsoDR Congo: Big Country, Big Possibilities


2. Kinshasa, the Democratic Republic of Congo's Capital City

In 1997, the Republic of Congo changed its name to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), and its capital city, Kinshasa, was founded in 1881 under the name Leopoldville. The DRC is a vibrant nation with a rich history, and Kinshasa is a bustling metropolis that serves as the country's political, economic, and cultural hub. With a population of over 11 million people, Kinshasa is the largest city in the DRC and one of the largest in all of Africa.

AlsoCentral African Republic - A Landlocked Country with a Tiny Population

3. 242 Languages in Congo: A Multilingual Nation

The Democratic Republic of Congo is a multilingual nation, with an estimated 242 languages spoken by its citizens. However, French is the only official language of the Republic of Congo, making it the primary language of communication and education. This is due to the country's colonial history, as it was a French colony until 1960. As a result, French is the language of government, media, and education, and is the most widely spoken language in the country.

AlsoSudan: A Country of Diversity

4. The A Country with a Tropical Climate

The Republic of the Congo is a country with a tropical climate, featuring cooler and drier conditions in its southern highlands and cooler and wetter conditions in its eastern highlands. This climate is characterized by high temperatures and high humidity throughout the year, with the average temperature ranging from 24°C to 27°C. The wet season runs from March to June, while the dry season runs from July to October. The country experiences heavy rainfall during the wet season, with the average annual precipitation ranging from 1,000 to 1,500 mm.

AlsoZambia: A Landlocked Country in Southern Africa


5. The A Country Rich in Natural Resources

The Republic of the Congo is a country rich in natural resources, boasting an abundance of copper, tantalum, niobium, industrial diamonds, zinc, silver, gold, tin, timber, coal, uranium and manganese. These resources are essential to the country's economy, providing a valuable source of income and employment. Copper is the most important mineral, with the country's copper reserves estimated to be worth over $2 billion. Other minerals such as tantalum, niobium, industrial diamonds, zinc, silver, gold, tin, timber, coal, uranium and manganese are also mined in the Republic of the Congo, contributing to the country's economic growth.

AlsoBurundi: A Small Country in the Heart of Africa

6. The Democratic A Country with a Unique Currency

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a country located in Central Africa, and its official currency is the Congolese Franc (CDF). The CDF is divided into 100 centimes and is issued by the Central Bank of the Congo. The CDF is used in all transactions within the country, including the purchase of goods and services, and is also accepted in some neighboring countries. The CDF is available in coins and banknotes, with denominations ranging from 1 to 1000 Francs.

AlsoThe Catholic Country of the Dominican Republic

7. Congo celebrates independence with a bang

On 30th June, 1960, the Republic of the Congo achieved its independence from Belgium, marking a significant milestone in the nation's history. This event was celebrated with great enthusiasm by the Congolese people, who had long sought freedom from the colonial rule of Belgium. The Republic of the Congo is now a sovereign nation, with its own government, laws, and constitution. The country is home to a diverse population of over 5 million people, and is a member of the United Nations, African Union, and the Francophonie.

AlsoCzech Republic: Home to a Variety of Natural Resources


8. The A Country Rich in Agricultural Resources

The Republic of the Congo is a country rich in agricultural resources, with sugar, coffee, palm oil, tea, rubber, cassava, quinine, root crops, bananas, corn, wood products and fruits all being produced in abundance. These crops are essential to the country's economy, providing sustenance to the people and a source of income for the nation. The production of these crops is also a major contributor to the country's GDP, making agriculture a vital part of the Republic of the Congo's economy.

AlsoIvory Coast: A West African Nation With a Rich Culture

9. The A Country with a Diverse Religious Beliefs

In the Republic of the Congo, the population is made up of a diverse range of religious beliefs. Approximately 50% of the population are Catholic, 20% are Protestant, 10% are Kimbanguist, 10% are Muslim, and the remaining 10% are made up of other religious beliefs. This variety of religious beliefs reflects the cultural diversity of the country, and is an important part of the Congolese identity.

AlsoSyrian Arab Republic: A Country of Diversity

10. The A Country Rich in Natural Resources

The Republic of the Congo is a country rich in natural resources, and its main industries reflect this. Mining and mineral processing are two of the most important industries, with the country producing a variety of minerals such as copper, cobalt, gold, and diamonds. Consumer products, cement, commercial ship repair, and processed foods and beverages are also important industries in the Republic of the Congo, providing a range of goods and services to the population.

AlsoMacedonia: A Country on the Rise


More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯


Short about Republic of the Congo
Is located in Central Africa in the northeast of the country of Angola.


Fast facts