Ten fun facts about Rwanda

Ten fun facts about Rwanda

1. Vibrant Capital in Central Africa

Rwanda, a small country located in Central Africa, is home to the bustling capital city of Kigali. Situated near the center of the country, Kigali is a vibrant hub of activity and culture. The national currency of Rwanda is the Rwandan franc (Rwf.), which is used throughout the country for all financial transactions.

AlsoBurundi: A Small Country in the Heart of Africa


2. A Multilingual Nation with Four Official Languages

Rwanda is a multilingual nation, with four official languages: French, English, Kiswahili, and Kinyanwanda. French is the language of instruction in schools, while English is used in government and business. Kiswahili is the most widely spoken language in the country, and is used in the media and for communication between different ethnic groups. Kinyanwanda is the native language of the majority of Rwandans, and is spoken in the home and in local communities.

AlsoMontenegro: A Country with a Thriving Economy

3. Religious Diversity in Rwanda

Rwanda is a country with a diverse religious population, with Roman Catholics making up half of the population, followed by Protestants (26%), Adventists (11%) and Muslims (4.6%). This religious diversity is reflective of the country's rich cultural heritage, with many different faiths coexisting peacefully.

AlsoDon Cheadle Nominated for Oscar for "Hotel Rwanda"

4. A Beautiful Country with a Temperate to Subtropical Climate

Rwanda is a beautiful country with a temperate to subtropical climate, featuring two distinct rainy seasons from February to April and November to January. The landscape of Rwanda is quite varied, with deep valleys and steep mountains providing a stunning backdrop to the country. The climate and terrain make Rwanda an ideal destination for outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, and mountain biking.

AlsoLithuania: A Country with a Diverse Economy


5. A Country That Relies Heavily on Imports

Rwanda is a country that relies heavily on imports to meet its needs, with machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, petroleum products, steel, and cement and construction material all being imported. However, it is also a major exporter, with coffee, tea, tin ore, and hides all being exported to other countries. This has helped to make Rwanda an important player in the global economy, and its exports are highly sought after.

AlsoEcuador's diverse economy: Petroleum, food processing, and textiles

6. 300 Species of Birds in Rwanda's Nyungwe Forest National Park

Rwanda is home to the Nyungwe Forest National Park, a stunning natural habitat that is home to an incredible 300 species of birds, as well as a variety of other animals such as civets, leopards, serval cats, and silver monkeys. The park is also home to the largest lake in the country, Lake Kivu, which is a popular destination for visitors to the park. With its diverse wildlife and stunning scenery, the Nyungwe Forest National Park is a must-see destination for anyone visiting Rwanda.

AlsoBotswana: A Country with a Diverse and Thriving Economy

7. Rwanda's Successful Presidential System

On July 1, 1962, Rwanda gained its independence and since then has been governed by a presidential system. This system has been successful in helping to improve the literacy rate of the country, which currently stands at 70.4%. This is a significant improvement from the literacy rate of just over 40% in the early 2000s. Rwanda has also made great strides in other areas such as healthcare, education, and economic development.

AlsoMozambique: A Country with a Diverse and Vibrant Economy


8. Tourism, Coffee, Tea, and Minerals Booming

Rwanda is a country in East Africa that relies heavily on its tourism, coffee, tea, and mineral industries for foreign exchange. Tourism is a major contributor to the country's economy, with visitors coming from all over the world to experience the country's stunning landscapes, vibrant culture, and unique wildlife. Coffee and tea are also important sources of foreign exchange, with Rwanda's high-quality Arabica coffee beans and tea leaves being exported to countries around the world. Finally, Rwanda's mineral industry is a major source of foreign exchange, with the country's gold, tin, and tungsten being mined and exported to other countries. All of these industries are essential to Rwanda's economy and help to ensure its continued success.

AlsoGhana: A Country of Many Languages

9. A Country Struggling to Recover After a Genocide

In 1994, Rwanda experienced a devastating genocide that had a catastrophic effect on the country's economy. This atrocity decimated the nation's fragile economic base, leaving the population in a state of extreme poverty. The genocide resulted in the death of an estimated 800,000 people, and the displacement of millions more. The economic impact of the genocide was so severe that it has taken decades for the country to begin to recover.

AlsoBolivia: Country Rich in Industrial Resources

10. A Country Rich in Natural Resources

Rwanda is a country rich in natural resources, boasting gold, cassiterite, wolframite, methane, hydropower and arable land. These resources have enabled the development of a range of industries, including cement, agricultural products, soap, small-scale beverages, furniture, plastic goods, textiles, shoes and cigarettes. This has allowed Rwanda to become a thriving economy, with its natural resources providing the foundation for a diverse range of industries.

More facts on


More interesting reads about...


Short about Rwanda
Is a landlocked country in East/Central Africa, bordered by Uganda to north, Burundi in the south, Democratic Republic of the Congo on the West and Tanzania to the East.


Fast facts