Ten fun facts about Botswana

Fact 1
Botswana gained independence from Britain on 30th September 1966.

Fact 2
The official languages are English and Setswana. Official Botswana is a Christian country though other religions such as Islam are represented in the larger towns.

Fact 3
The official currency of Botswana is Pula which means “rain.” The ISO Code for the Botswana pula is BWP. Botswana is divided into 16 districts – 10 rural districts and 6 urban districts.

Fact 4
Gaborone is the capital and largest city of Botswana. It is the government capital as well as the economic capital.

Fact 5
The longest river in Botswana is the Okavango River which starts in central Angola and passes through southern Angola and Namibia.

Fact 6
Tourism, mining, agriculture and transportation contribute to the country’s economic structure.

Fact 7
The highest point in Botswana is at the Tsodilo Hills at 1,489 meters. Limpopo is the Longest River in Botswana.

Fact 8
The climate of Botswana is mainly semi arid with warm winters and hot summers. Rainy season is from November to March.

Fact 9
Makgadikadi Pans are the world’s largest salt pans which are located in Botswana.

Fact 10
Botswana exports copper, diamonds, nickel, soda ash, meat and textiles. It imports foodstuffs, machinery, electrical goods, transport equipment, textiles, fuel and petroleum products, wood and paper products, metal and metal products.

More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯



Short about Botswana
Is a landlocked country located in southern Africa bordered by Namibia to the west and north, Zimbabwe to the northeast and South Africa to the south.

Fast facts