Ten fun facts about Montenegro

Fact 1
Montenegro is bordered by Serbia to the northeast, Kosovo to the east, Albania to the southeast, Croatia to the west and Bosnia and Herzegovina to the northwest.

Fact 2
The country experiences a Mediterranean climate with hot dry summers and autumns. Winters are cold with the country’s inland cities experiencing heavy snowfall.

Fact 3
The official language is Serbian though they also speak Bosnian, Albanian and Croatian.

Fact 4
Orthodox Christianity is the largest religion in Montenegro followed by Roman Catholicism. There is a large community of Sunni Muslims as well.

Fact 5
The capital and largest city of Montenegro is the city of Podgorica.

Fact 6
Montenegro boasts 117 beaches along the Adriatic coast, mountain ski resorts, the medieval city of Kotor and other cultural sites.

Fact 7
Handmade carpets, wood carvings, tapestries, ceramics, filigree jewelry, ceramics and art, wine can be purchased when you tour Montenegro.

Fact 8
The lowest point lies a 0 m with the Adriatic Sea while the highest peak in Montenegro is Bobotov Kuk (2,522 m).

Fact 9
The official currency is the Euro. The national day is celebrated on July 13. Montenegro was recognized as an independent country at the Congress of Berlin in 1878.

Fact 10
The major industries are tourism, steelmaking, aluminum and food processing. The major trading partners are Serbia, Italy, Croatia, Hungary and Germany.

More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯



Short about Montenegro
Is a country situated in the southeastern part of the European continent, between the Adriatic Sea and the country of Serbia.

Fast facts