Ten fun facts about Ivory Coast

Fact 1
The official name of the country is Republic of Cote d’Ivoire.

Fact 2
Republic of Cote d’Ivoire has two official capitals. Yamoussoukro is the political and administrative capital of Ivory Coast while Abidjan serves as the economic capital of the country.

Fact 3
Ivory Coast covers an area of 124,502 square miles. Abidjan is the largest city in the country covering an area of 981 square miles. The country is flat with undulating plains and mountains in the north-west.

Fact 4
The major ethnic groups in the country include Akan (42.1%) , Voltaiques or Gur (17.6%) Northern Mandes (16.5%) Krous (11%), Southern Mandes (10%). The Lebanese and French constitute the remaining population.

Fact 5
The official currency used in Ivory Coast is the West African CFA franc denoted by the ISO-4217 code XOF. The franc is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes.

Fact 6
The official language spoken on the Ivory Coast is French.

Fact 7
The dominant religion is Islam followed by Christianity.

Fact 8
The Ivory Coast is the largest producers and exporters of coffee, cocoa beans and palm oil. Fishing and forestry play an important role.

Fact 9
The country exports rice, wheat, plastic materials, resins, agricultural chemicals and oil and gas equipment. The major imports include cocoa and cocoa products, coffee, rubber and petroleum.

Fact 10
Ivory Coast celebrates the country’s independence from France on August 7, 1960 as their national day.

More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯



Short about Ivory Coast
Is located in West Africa and bordered by Liberia, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso and Ghana.

Fast facts