Ten fun facts about Gambia

Fact 1
Gambia is the smallest country on the continent of Africa. It is officially known as the Republic of The Gambia.

Fact 2
The capital city is Banjul. Gambia gained independence from UK on February 18, 1965 and joined The Commonwealth.

Fact 3
The climate in Gambia is mainly tropical with hot rainy season (June to November) and cooler, dry season from November to May.

Fact 4
The weather is mostly tropical with well defined dry and rainy seasons.

Fact 5
99% of the people in Gambia are African and belong to different ethnic groups such as Mandinka, Fula, Wolof, Jola and Serahuli.

Fact 6
The official currency of The Gambia is dalasi. The literacy rate is 40%.

Fact 7
90% are Muslims while 9% are Christians and the remaining 1% practices indigenous beliefs.

Fact 8
Gambia exports peanut products, fish and cotton lint and palm kernels. They import foodstuffs, manufactures, fuel, machinery and transport equipment.

Fact 9
The industries in Gambia concentrate on tourism, processing peanuts, fish, hides, beverages, agricultural machinery, assembly woodworking, metal working and clothing. Agriculture is millet, rice, sorghum, peanuts, corn, sesame, cassava, palm kernels, cattle, sheep and goats.

Fact 10
The natural resources are fish, titanium (rutile and ilmenite), tin zircon, silica sand, clay and petroleum. The major trading partners are India, UK, France, Italy, Cote d’Ivoire, China, Senegal, Brazil and Netherlands.

More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯



Short about Gambia
Is bordered to the north, east and south by Senegal with a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west.

Fast facts