Ten fun facts about Timor-Leste

Ten fun facts about Timor-Leste

1. Timor-Leste Declares Independence

On May 20, 2002, the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, formerly known as East Timor, declared its independence from Indonesia, officially becoming its own sovereign nation. This marked the end of a long struggle for independence, which had begun in 1975 when the country was annexed by Indonesia. After 27 years of occupation, the people of Timor-Leste were finally able to celebrate their freedom and the establishment of their own democratic republic.

AlsoAustralia's Neighbors: A Vibrant Region


2. A Country of Magnificent Mountains

The island-country of Timor-Leste is spread across an area of 15,410 square kilometers, with its highest peak being Mount Ramelau, also known as Mount Tatamailau, standing at an impressive 2,963 meters. This majestic mountain is a popular tourist destination, offering breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape and a chance to experience the unique culture of the country.

AlsoComoros: A Country of Diversity

3. A Land of Diverse Languages

In Timor-Leste, Portuguese and Teturn are the official languages, while English and Indonesian are the working languages. This is due to the country's history of colonization by Portugal and its proximity to Indonesia, which has resulted in a diverse linguistic landscape. English and Indonesian are widely spoken in the country, and are used in business, government, and education. Portuguese is the language of the courts and is used in official documents, while Teturn is the language of the majority of the population.

AlsoDR Congo: Most Populous French-Speaking Country

4. 58.7% of Timor-Leste literate: Major challenge for nation

In Timor-Leste, the literacy and education levels are shockingly low, with only an estimated 58.7% of the population aged 15 and over being literate. This is a major issue for the country, as it hinders economic growth and development, and limits the potential of its citizens. The government is taking steps to improve the situation, such as introducing free primary education and increasing access to secondary education, but much more needs to be done to ensure that all citizens have the opportunity to reach their full potential.

AlsoGambia: A Small Country with a High Literacy Rate


5. A Unique Currency and City

The small Southeast Asian nation of Timor-Leste is unique in that its currency is the US Dollar. The country's capital, Dili, is a bustling port city and commercial hub, with a wide range of businesses and services. It is the largest city in the country, and is home to a variety of cultural and historical attractions, including the National Museum, the Presidential Palace, and the National Library. Dili is also the seat of government, and is the center of the country's political and economic activity.

Also242 Languages in Congo: A Multilingual Nation

6. A Tropical Paradise

Timor-Leste is a tropical paradise, boasting a monsoon climate with distinct wet and dry seasons. From December to April, the wet season brings heavy rains and high humidity, while the dry season from May to November is characterized by sunny days and cooler temperatures. Depending on the region, temperatures can range from a cool 15⁰C in the mountainous areas to a balmy 30⁰C on the northern and eastern coast.

AlsoMauritius celebrates its independence with a festival of culture

7. A Religious Landscape of Diversity

In Timor-Leste, the majority of the population is Roman Catholic, with Protestants, Muslims, Hindus, and Buddhists making up the remainder. This diverse religious landscape is reflective of the country's rich cultural heritage, with each faith contributing to the unique identity of the nation.

AlsoBilingual Nepal is a country of diversity


8. A Country of Natural Resources and Luxury Goods

The small Southeast Asian nation of Timor-Leste is home to a wealth of natural resources, including gold, petroleum, natural gas, and manganese. The country also boasts a thriving marble industry, which is exported to other countries. Additionally, Timor-Leste is known for its production of coffee, sandalwood, and other goods. To meet its own needs, the country imports food, gasoline, kerosene, and machinery from other nations.

AlsoThe Two Major Industries of Belarus

9. Timor-Leste Becomes First New Sovereign State of 21st Century

On May 20, 2002, Timor-Leste became the first new sovereign state of the twenty-first century, marking a momentous occasion in the country's history. After centuries of foreign rule, the people of Timor-Leste finally achieved independence and the right to self-determination. This momentous event was celebrated with joy and pride throughout the nation, as the people of Timor-Leste embraced their newfound freedom. The independence of Timor-Leste is a reminder of the power of the human spirit and the importance of standing up for one's rights.

AlsoAngola: A Land of Many Languages

10. Timor-Leste & Indonesia: A Mutual Benefit.

Timor-Leste is a small nation located in Southeast Asia, and its economy is largely based on agriculture and industry. The main agricultural products are cassava, coffee, rice, and maize, while the industries include printing, soap manufacturing, handicrafts, and woven cloth. The country's major trading partner is Indonesia, and this relationship has been beneficial for both countries. The handicrafts and woven cloth produced in Timor-Leste are particularly popular in Indonesia, and the country's agricultural products are also in high demand. This mutually beneficial relationship has helped to strengthen the economy of Timor-Leste.

More facts on


More interesting reads about...


Short about Timor-Leste
Is an island in the Indonesian archipelago that lies between the South China Sea and the Indian Ocean and includes the enclave of Oecussis, located within West Timor.


Fast facts