Ten fun facts about Guatemala

Ten fun facts about Guatemala

1. The Land of the Eternal Spring

Guatemala, known as the "land of trees" in the Mayan tongue, is officially known as the Republic of Guatemala. It is also referred to as the "land of the eternal spring" due to its warm tropical climate, which is more temperate in the highlands and drier in the easternmost areas. Guatemala is a beautiful country with a rich culture and history, and its warm climate makes it a great destination for those looking to escape the cold winter months.

AlsoGuatemala City: The Most populous city in Central America


2. Diverse and Interesting Country: Guatemala

Guatemala is a country divided into three distinct parts. The northern plains are sparsely populated, while the central highlands are densely populated and contain numerous volcanoes. The Pacific lowlands are mainly agricultural, and are home to a large portion of the country's population. Each of these regions has its own unique characteristics, making Guatemala a diverse and interesting country.

AlsoThe Maya Legacy in El Salvador

3. Guatemala's Independence Day Fair

On September 15th 1821, Guatemala gained its independence from Spain, and to celebrate this momentous occasion, the largest holiday fair in the country takes place in Quetzaltenango. This national holiday is a time of joy and celebration, with people from all over the country gathering to enjoy the festivities. The fair features traditional Guatemalan food, music, and dancing, as well as a variety of vendors selling handmade crafts and souvenirs. It's a great opportunity to experience the culture and history of Guatemala, and to join in the celebration of the country's independence.

AlsoExplore Belize: Central America's Tiny Jewel

4. Cultural Diversity in Guatemala

Guatemala is a culturally diverse country, with Spanish being the official language, though many of the native tribes still speak their own native tongues. The official currency of Guatemala is the Quetzal, which is named after the national bird of Guatemala, the Resplendent Quetzal. The Quetzal is a symbol of freedom and liberty, and is a reminder of the country's rich cultural heritage.

Also10 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal


5. Guatemala City - The Vibrant Capital of Guatemala

Guatemala City is the bustling capital of Guatemala, and one of the most populous cities in the country. It is a vibrant metropolis, home to a diverse population of over 3 million people, and is a major hub for business, culture, and entertainment. With its bustling streets, vibrant nightlife, and rich cultural heritage, Guatemala City is a must-visit destination for anyone looking to explore the beauty and culture of Guatemala.

AlsoScotland: A Land of Contrasts

6. UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Guatemala

Guatemala is home to an impressive array of UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the beautiful colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, the Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua, and the majestic Tikal National Park. Antigua Guatemala is a stunning example of Spanish colonial architecture, with its cobblestone streets, brightly-colored buildings, and grand churches. The Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua are a must-see for history buffs, as they contain the remains of the ancient Mayan city of Quirigua. Finally, Tikal National Park is a breathtaking natural wonder, with its lush rainforest, towering pyramids, and diverse wildlife. Guatemala's UNESCO World Heritage Sites are truly a sight to behold.

AlsoTogo: Ag Sector Powers Income, Jobs

7. Guatemala's Vibrant Flag: History & Culture

The national flag of Guatemala is a vibrant symbol of the country's history and culture. It features two distinct blue stripes, representing the two bodies of water that border the country - the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. In the center of the flag is the national coat of arms, which is a representation of Guatemala's independence from Spain in 1821. The coat of arms is composed of a quetzal, the national bird of Guatemala, and a scroll with the words "Libertad 15 de Septiembre de 1821" (Freedom 15th of September 1821). The flag is a reminder of the country's proud history and its commitment to freedom.

AlsoThe falcon is the national bird of Kuwait


8. Inventors of Blue Jeans: Guatemala

Guatemala is a country with a rich history of innovation. In Mayan times, the first chocolate bar was invented there, and it is also the birthplace of blue denim. This fabric, which has become a staple of modern fashion, was first created in Guatemala and has since become a worldwide phenomenon.

AlsoThe Republic of the Congo: A Country Rich in Agricultural Resources

9. 33 Volcanoes in Guatemala

Guatemala is home to an impressive 33 volcanoes, the highest of which is the majestic Tajumulco Volcano. Standing at an impressive 4,220 meters (13,845 feet) above sea level, Tajumulco is the highest point in all of Guatemala and is located in the highlands of the country. The other 32 volcanoes are also located in the highlands, making Guatemala a truly unique and awe-inspiring destination.

AlsoTunisia: A Country of Contrasts

10. Guatemala's Agricultural Sector is a Major Contributor to its Economy

Guatemala is a country where agriculture plays a major role in its economy, contributing to a quarter of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Coffee, bananas and sugar are the three main agricultural products of the land, with coffee being the most important export. Coffee production alone accounts for around 10% of the country's GDP, making it a major source of income for many Guatemalans. Bananas and sugar are also important exports, with the former being the second most important agricultural product in the country. All in all, Guatemala's agricultural sector is a major contributor to its economy, providing employment and income to many of its citizens.

More facts on


More interesting reads about...


Short about Guatemala
Is a South American country situated between the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea.


Fast facts