Ten fun facts about Bhutan

Fact 1
The official name of Bhutan is the “Kingdom of Bhutan.” Bhutan follows the system of Democracy as well as Constitutional Monarchy.

Fact 2
The country has been known by several different names including Potente, Cambirasi, Broukpa, Lho Mon and Lhomen Khazi.

Fact 3
The official language is Dzonkha. Tibetan and Nepali dialects are also widely spoken. The majority of the people in Bhutan follow Lamaistic Buddhism followed by Hinduism.

Fact 4
The currency of Bhutan is Ngultrum though the Indian Rupee is also accepted.

Fact 5
The largest city of Bhutan is Thimpu which is also the national capital and situated at an elevation of 7,656 ft.

Fact 6
Bhutan is the only nation in the world where the sale of tobacco is banned.

Fact 7
The highest point is Gangkhar Puensum at 24, 840 ft and it is the highest unclimbed mountain in the world.

Fact 8
The climate of Bhutan varies as it is tropical in the southern plains, experiences cool winters and hot summers in central valleys and severe winters and cool summers in Himalayas.

Fact 9
The main industries are cement, wood products, processed fruits and alcoholic beverages. Bhutan exports electricity to India, cardamom, gypsum, timber and handicrafts. Agriculture is its major industry with rice, fruit and dairy industry (yaks).

Fact 10
Bhutan is the world’s only carbon sink – it absorbs more CO2 than it gives out. It sells hydro-electrical power, making it the only country whose largest exports are renewable energy.

More interesting reads about...

Click here for more country facts ❯



Short about Bhutan
Is a landlocked country nestled amidst the eastern end of the Himalaya Mountains, bordered by Indian in the south, east and west and by China in the north.

Fast facts